RSS

BMW M5 vs. E55 AMG?

30 Mar

Hi Everyone

Today’s post is for all the petrol head, car fanatics out there, it is a very interesting post and by all means highly informative. Are you a Beemer or Benz man? Lets find out.

M5 vs. AMG

Before I start I should give you some background, I am car fanatic, I practically live for cars, if I could afford more I would upgrade in a heartbeat. So when I was given the opportunity to play with these two vehicles I leapt at the change.

I arrived at the dealership, it was warm and the sunshine reflected off the cars in such a way as to make the cars look extra special, however I am sure it was just the excitement of what was about to happen. There in front of me stood two unbelievable beasts, one black and one silver one fast and the other faster. Both had deathly power, both had the power to thrill, and I was most defiantly going to be thrilled.

I stepped up to the silver one first, I walked around the car, as the back of the car slowly came into my vision I saw some silver shimmering letters “AMG” and as I continued to get closer there were more shiny letters “E55”. At this point I must explain that just to contain my joy I had to look the other way. The dealer walked over and handed me the keys, as they touched my hand I help the power of this machine transfer over to my fingers.

E55 AMG Back

I climbed into the front seat; the steering wheel and leather greeted me with class. I slid the key into the ignition and turned. The engine roared to life like a lion in the jungle free, powerful and dangerous. I slowly placed the gear lever to drive and edged this monster out of the lot.

Once I hit the road I fully began to understand what power means. For all of you who are reading this are probably asking why I am making such a big deal? Let me give you the stats. The E55 AMG is a Mercedes Benz with a 5.5L Supercharged engine, it develops 476bhp, does 0-100km/h in 4.7 seconds, and hits a top speed of 310km/h. Now that you are positively jaw dropped, we can get back to the review.

E55 AMG Front

Let me talk about the drive, as this is what is on every readers mind. This car is fast, it is quick and its acceleration troughs’ you into the back of your seat, always, every time, without fail. It has power, which cannot be described in words; only the driver can truly appreciate this power. The E55 is considered a big car, one of the biggest saloon Mercedes Benz’s, however this car feels light. Light like a mini but with all the stability of a tank. It drives like a dream, when I was driving the car, I hit a top speed of 245km/h and I felt like I was doing 120km this car was built well. It handles well and makes you feel safe. I threw it around several corners and it did not even seem fazed by them. This is a beautiful car.

AMG

The interior of this car is Merc standard, good enough for a king, although it is the second most expensive range of Merc it feels like you are in paradise, the back seat has enough space to play a small soccer match and the front has enough space to host a soccer match, this car had big people in mind when it was made. The leather and other trimmings are soft strong and tasteful, the dark wood, makes you feel like you are in a car worth driving in, something to be proud of.

Once I had finished having my internal organs reorganized, I got out of the AMG to stepped into a different type of beast, I had heard rumors of this thing they called the V10, and I had heard the whispers of 500bhp, but I did not believe it until I started the engine.

BMW M5

The BMW M5 is by no means a slouch, it is faster, better, stronger, and it makes sure you know this. Once you have placed the key into the slot and pressed the start button the engine comes to life. I though nothing could be more fast than the AMG, and I was right, I drove the M5 and it felt slow, sluggish and rather boring. At this point I felt so disappointed I wanted to take the car back but then the dealer asked me had I pushed the “M” button? The “M” Button what prey tell is this secret button. He pointed out a button with a small “M” on it.

Could a little button make this drag of a car the beast they all speak of? Let me put it this way, when I finished the test drive and climbed out of the car I had to lean against the car for balance I was shaking so badly. That simple little “M” button transformed this car into the 500bhp animal I had heard them speak of.

When you accelerate the sound of the great big engine screams out, and scares all the other cars off the road, this 5L V10 is mind blazingly powerful, it really does have “M Power”! And that “M Power” makes sure that the M5 goes from 0-100km/h in under 4.7 seconds and hits a top speed of 320km/h.

M5

Although this car has the speed of a racing car it by no means feels like a racing car, it has space, maybe not enough to have a soccer match but I would play ping pong in there. It has plenty of legroom and soft luxury leather and wood trims. It is in everyway a soft driving luxury vehicle.

Although it seems as though I love this car more than air, I honestly have to go with the AMG, the BMW is faster and just as comfortable, however it drives like a learner fresh out of driving school, gear change is rough and sports car like, it explodes off the start line slow and steady, and then bang all the power hits you as though you didn’t release the clutch properly, and there isn’t even a clutch on this car.

I also have a problem with the safety, don’t get me wrong this car is safe, very safe. However the AMG is safer, and makes sure you feel safe always. The BMW seems to be more like a reckless teenager with a driver license the AMG feels more like the queen of England with a rocket strapped to her back.

Honestly I have to say, that both these cars are perfect in everyway. The BMW is power mixed with loud overbearing opinions and the AMG is power mixed with calm subtle, control. To say one is better than the other would be a lie. They are both brilliant and I would be super happy with both. But it some how seems to come down to feeling.

One man might get a good feeling from the AMG and the next guy might hate it, although the facts are clear I don’t think these cars are defined by numbers on paper but rather the driver and his machine on an open road.

 

I look forwards to hearing your comments. You can subscribe for free on my site or you can follow me on Twitter: TSOE5000@twitter.com

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2011 in Blogs of March 2011

 

7 responses to “BMW M5 vs. E55 AMG?

  1. leah

    March 30, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    You crazy!!! but the BMW is much better looking:)

     
  2. Ledi

    March 31, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    From your review, the AMG just sounds way better, and if i could drive (lol) then I would probably go with the Merc…but then again, there aint nothing like a BMW man…haha even just rolls off your so nicely “B-M-W…”

     
  3. Thato

    August 25, 2011 at 8:50 am

    I havnt driven either of these cars… I’ve merely been a passenger… But from my experience the Mercedes is more of a retirement car… A young businessman nearing his 40’s will not appreciate it. The M5 however screams MID-LIFE CRISIS.. It brings the young “rebelious” feeling out of you… Its reminds you of the best and raunchiest sex you’ve ever had, the merc is for people who are too lazy and old to have sex! All BMW cars are the ‘sexy victoria’s secret models’, AMGs are beautiful models you’d see at a Louis Vuitton runway. They are different, I’d pick BMW over Mercedes ANYDAY [With the exception of the C63 AMG (true basterd child)

    #ThatsAll

     
  4. jay

    January 20, 2012 at 5:04 am

    You ass, The E55 is faster especially on the street !!!!!!

     
    • Stephen Nicolaou

      January 20, 2012 at 9:16 am

      Hey man, I agree and disagree with you, on paper the M5 is faster, and has stiffer suspension, it also has higher HP. The E55 is has slightly higher torques, but all in all has a smoother saloon drive. I have not personally drag raced them or for that mater had a street race with them. If the opportunity arises I shall do so and report back for the website. By the way do you own either? Id love some pics or video clips of you street racing. Thanks for the support.

       
  5. jarred

    May 8, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    mercedes is better

     

Leave a Reply

 
