RSS

Pandora’s Box

10 May

Hello Everyone

I have been working hard and relaxing even harder. I was in Botswana for the Easter holidays and all I can say is wow, what an amazing place, the beauty is incredible.

Today I was helping a friend clean out their house when I came across a package; this package contained a black and colorful object. The box read “Meffert’s”. I continued to read further and the package says, “The new generation puzzle”.

The Meffert

As you may or may not know, I am a Rubik’s Cube maniac, I have completed several of them, and others still trouble me, non the less I am a puzzle fan. So finding a weird shaped puzzle I had never heard of was like finding Pandora’s box and having the opportunity to open it.

Once I had ripped the packaging off I began to play with my new toy. The rules of this puzzle are rather simple, match up all the arrows, shapes and letter and you win! Sound easy? Not quite, this puzzle is rather tricky if you successfully fix one side and try to fix the other the first side will be re mixed up again. The trick is, what you move, eventually put back.

Those of you reading may be saying, “Wait, this sounds just like a Rubik’s cube, what’s so special?” although the Meffert’s puzzle works on the same basic idea of the Rubik’s cube it is more interesting. Unlike the Rubik’s cube, which has one level of difficulty, the Mefferts has easy, medium and hard. This twist makes it fun for all.

So far I have successfully only solved shapes and letters, but my arrows are all wrong, thus I have only completed medium. I will let you all know as soon as I have finished hard.

After completing the puzzle I was so entertained by it that I had to get some more info about this fun puzzle. Meffert’s are puzzles designed and made by German born professor Uwe Meffert. Uwe Meffert is considered one of the worlds leading puzzle experts.

Although I like this new puzzle, I still feel like it is less clever than the Rubik’s cube. The Meffert is very clever and looks far more interesting, it just seems to lack the wonder and mind bending science of the original Rubik’s cube. And I have found this to be true, it took me only an hour to complete the Mefferts but I had to Google tips for the Rubik’s cube.

To conclude the Meffert is wonderful, it is clever and highly addictive, it feels good to hold and play with in your hands. It also looks far more magical than the old style Rubik’s puzzle, it feels as though the second you solve the puzzle a flood of magic will stream out. This is a well-designed and very entertaining toy. I recommend it to anyone young or old. It is also a good starter if you have never completed similar puzzles before, it is challenging but not too difficult to solve.

Final Rating 9/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2011 in Blogs of May 2011

 

2 responses to “Pandora’s Box

  1. kayla

    May 11, 2011 at 8:33 am

    dope stuff steven… Iv checked out a few of ur posts, nice variety, the website has a good feel, even the pictures posted are stunning.. Much Love, hope u continue killing it

     
  2. costa

    May 11, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    For us mear mortals this sounds like another mind bending game that will eventualy drive me to murder.
    NO THANKS ,but good luck

     

Leave a Reply

 
