RSS

NaNoWriMo

08 Nov


As you well know I am a writer and I am a passionate writer too. I am such a passionate writer that I have Decided to join the “National Novel Writing Month” (aka NaNoWriMo) competition.  

The “NaNoWriMo” is an international novel writing competition. It is held every year over the month of November and is a worldwide sensation amongst all writers around the world.

The competition is held every year in the month of November and is free and open to all people from anywhere in the world aged 13 and up. The rules of the competition are very simple, from 1st November until the 30th November you have to write and complete a 50 000 word novel. This novel can be about absolutely anything that you wish to write, however it must land on or pass 50 000 words.

Once you have completed your novel you will need to upload it to the  “NaNoWriMo” website. You will need to sign up, which is simple and free. Once you have uploaded your novel it is all out of your hands and left to the panel of judges.

Once the judges have chosen their favourite novel the lucky winner will receive a publishing contract with “NaNoWriMo” where their novel will be published and marketed for sale.

Now I am sure most of you are thinking that 50 000 seems rather daunting and realistically how is it possible to write a “good” novel in such a short period of time? Don’t stress, the idea of the competition is not to find the perfect novel, or even the best novel, the people at “NaNoWriMo” are not looking for perfection but rather creativity, the most creative and entertaining novel wins.  Their motto is “Quantity not quality”. 

And for all the scared or over worked writers out there, it’s not so bad, to achieve this amazing feat and complete a novel, all you need to do is sit down every day and knock out about 1600 words, and think about once you are complete, you may not win but hey you would have written an entire novel.

To show my support I have also signed up and I am writing to my heart’s content. Every evening after a full day of work, I complete all the domestic tasks, take a shower and sit down to quickly extract 1600 words of creativity from my brain.  I’m not sure if I will win, but I will definitely feel proud for completing my very own novel.

To keep myself held accountable and to keep all you entertained and inspired I will post small chunks of my novel online, so you can read, comment and enjoy. Maybe ill create a second blog, just for the novel, that might be fun, but for the present moment I will just post it on here.

To sign up, for more rules and to get started goto: www.nanowrimo.org

Good luck and happy writing to all. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 8, 2011 in Blogs Of November 2011

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “NaNoWriMo

  1. costa

    November 8, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Very cool ,pity I cant write to save my life !!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
